Home » About Us » Leadership


John Richards


Mr Richards is Chairman of The Bloomfield Group. He commenced with Bloomfield in 2002 and was appointed as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer in 2010, prior to his appointment as Chairman in 2016.

The Bloomfield Group is a proud and successful mining and engineering group. Bloomfield has been part of the Hunter for more than 85 years and employs more than 600 local people. It operates two open-cut coalmines – Rix’s Creek Mine northwest of Singleton and Bloomfield Mine east of Maitland – in addition to an engineering business.

Mr Richards is the current Chair of COAL21, and is a member of the Coal Forum of the Minerals Council of Australia, the Institute of Company Directors, the NSW Minerals Council Executive Committee and Coal Innovation NSW. He is also a member of the Newcastle Institute of Energy and Resources Advisory Board.

Mr Richards is a former Director of Port Waratah Coal Services and former Chair of the NSW Minerals Council.

Mark McCallum

Chief Executive Officer

Prior to joining COAL21, Mark was Managing Director of a public relations and communications agency with clients in the resources and energy sectors.

Mark’s previous roles include the Australian Head of Government Relations with Shell, managing reputational and political risks during a significant reprioritisation of Shell’s global investment portfolio, and the Deputy CEO of Australia’s peak oil and gas industry association – APPEA – leading the policy and advocacy arm for five years.  Mark has also held roles as a senior manager in peak resource industry representative bodies and as an advisor to the Federal Government.